Dear 20 Somethings,

☜ Sexuality continues.

Hello 20 Something lovelies from near and far,

With my teens behind me and twenty-thirteen ahead, I thought long and hard about what my first post of the new year should be. Somehow, mid shower, with T-swift’s twenty-two blaring against the cheaply tiled bathroom of my sister’s starter apartment, it came to me: excuse my French, screw you One Direction.

My twitter feed is rolling a story of a heartbroken confused, twenty-something Taylor Swift left by Harry Styles for being an antique loving prude. It’s no secret that I’m a fan of T-Swift, scroll through my past posts the evidence is written on my wall. However, this is a matter beyond blondie.

I’m talking to you twenty-somethings, sluts and prudes alike.

Only you have the right to judge your sexual endeavors or lack there of. Period. You,  but especially not some boy band kid found on basic cable. When we subscribe to young bloods like Taylor Swift being judged for her sexual choices, we give others permission to judge us as well. Make your decisions based on you, what you want, and what’s right for you, whether in that moment, or for the long-term. Do not allow overly coiffed teeny-boppers, or “insiders” to decide what’s right and wrong with your twenty-something sexuality. Draw your own lines where you see fit, but do not tolerate slut shaming, do not tolerate prude shaming.

“People who look down on other people don’t end up being looked up to.” — Robert Half    

xoxo,
-E

One thought on “Dear 20 Somethings,

  1. Pingback: HuffPost Blogger Weighs In | East Coast Elegance

What do you think?

